NULGE Provides Criteria for Establishing Additional Local Government Areas

Soukaina Sghir
Soukaina Sghir
2 Min Read

The Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE) has underscored the pressing need for the creation of more local government areas in the country. Additionally, NULGE has outlined specific criteria that should be taken into account when establishing new local government areas and development centers to foster rural development.

The union’s call for the establishment of more Local Government Areas (LGAs) spans all 36 states, aiming to alleviate the burden of high population density in the existing 774 LGAs.

During a march-past and parade ceremony held to mark its inaugural week in Abuja, NULGE’s National President, Comrade Ambali Olatunji, recommended a comprehensive reclassification of LGAs based on their status and viability.

According to him, “Nigeria’s population has seen substantial growth over the years, rendering the existing 774 Local Governments woefully insufficient. It is imperative to establish standardized criteria for creating more Local Governments, taking into account factors such as population size, land area, and revenue-generating potential.

Any community with a population of at least 500,000, a minimum of two secondary schools, four primary schools, health centers, markets, and traditional rulers should be considered eligible for provisional Local Government status following a referendum conducted by INEC with elected representatives.

Furthermore, it is recommended that the existing Nigerian Local Government Councils be reclassified into Local Government Development Areas, districts, city councils, etc., based on their status and viability. The current unitary system of Local Government is no longer practical and is imbalanced.”

Soukaina Sghir

Share this Article
Leave a comment