New Government Formed in Madagascar.. A Blend of Continuity and Fresh Faces

Soukaina Sghir
Soukaina Sghir
3 Min Read
New Government

Less than a month after President Rajoelina’s inauguration for a second term and just ten days following the reappointment of Christian Ntsay as Prime Minister, the composition of Madagascar’s new government was unveiled on Sunday evening. With 27 ministers and 9 secretaries of state, the team is charged with implementing the state’s policies, showcasing a mix of seasoned leaders and new entrants.

Among the notable figures retaining their positions are the Minister of Justice, Landy Randriamanantenasoa, the Minister of Economy and Finance, Rindra Rabarinirinarison, and the Minister of the Interior, Justin Tokely. Of the 27 ministers, 15 have been reappointed, with 14 continuing in their previous roles.

Key figures like Edgar Razafindravahy in Commerce and Industrialization, Marie Michelle Sahondrarimalala in National Education, and Zely Randriamanantany in Health, remain steadfast in their positions. The lineup also includes Joël Randriamandranto in Tourism, Tahina Razafindramalo in Posts and Telecommunications, Ndriamihaja Andrianatrehina in Public Works, and Valéry Ramonjavelo in Transport and Meteorology. Fidiniavo Ravokatra takes charge of Water and Sanitation, while Paubert Mahatante oversees Fisheries and the Blue Economy, and Olivier Rakotomalala heads Mines.

Lalatiana Rakotondrazafy, formerly responsible for Culture and Communication, now takes on the portfolio of Technical Education and Vocational Training.

Notably, two key ministries see new faces: General Sahivelo Delphin, former Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces, assumes leadership in National Defense, and Rafaravavitafika Rasata replaces Yvette Sylla at the helm of the Foreign Affairs ministry.

The appointment of Naina Andriantsitohaina, Mayor of Antananarivo, as Minister of Decentralization and Territorial Planning, along with Augustin Andriamananoro, Vice President of the ruling party Mapar-TGV, heading Culture, and Max Fontaine, founder of Bôndy, a social reforestation enterprise, taking charge of Environment, are noteworthy additions.

Despite calls from civil society organizations to elevate the Environmental Ministry’s protocol rank in a gesture signaling the country’s commitment to biodiversity and natural resource protection, it remains in the 26th position.

The reappointment of some ministers, whose past performances have faced public scrutiny, has sparked surprise and generated discussions on social media. The presidency asserts that candidates underwent specific interviews and tests to secure their positions.

All members of the newly announced government took the oath during the official ceremony, pledging, among other commitments, to resist corruption. The appointment of nine secretaries of state to augment the existing team is expected shortly.

Soukaina Sghir

Share this Article
Leave a comment