Ivory Coast: A New Government with Few Changes

1 Min Read
Ivory Coast

Following the appointment of Robert Beugré Mambé as Prime Minister of Ivory Coast, a new government has been formed, and it largely maintains the status quo. The new government consists of 33 ministers, with most members of the previous government retaining their positions.

Téné Birahima Ouattara remains in charge of Defense, Jean Sansan Kambilé oversees the Justice portfolio, and General Vagondo Diomandé continues as the Minister of Interior. However, Kouadio Konan Bertin, the former Minister of National Reconciliation, has left the government.

Two career diplomats have joined the new team, with Ambassador Kacou Léon Adom taking on the role of Ivory Coast’s Foreign Minister.

Notably, Paulin Danho has departed from his position, following a scandal related to the flooding of the Ebimpé stadium, where the Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) is scheduled to begin on January 13.

As for the Ministry of Sports, it is now under the leadership of Prime Minister Robert Beugré Mambé. His successful experience in managing the 2017 Francophonie Games may have influenced this decision, particularly with the upcoming CAN only a few months away.

Soukaina Sghir

Share this Article
Leave a comment