FIFA Officially Announces 2030 World Cup to Be Held in Morocco, Spain, and Portugal

2 Min Read
World Cup

It has been announced by FIFA that Morocco, Spain, and Portugal will be jointly hosting the 2030 World Cup. Furthermore, to mark the centenary of the competition, the first three matches of the tournament will be held in Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay.

The joint bid submitted by Morocco, Portugal, and Spain was the sole proposal for hosting the tournament. This edition of the World Cup will mark several historic milestones as it spans three continents and six nations.

FIFA, in a statement, confirmed, “The FIFA Council unanimously approved the sole candidature by Morocco, Portugal, and Spain to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup, which represents a unique prospect of passion and unity across the Mediterranean.”

Furthermore, considering the historical significance of this edition as the 100th anniversary of the World Cup, FIFA announced that an exceptional celebration will be held in Montevideo, Uruguay, where the first three matches of the tournament will be sequentially hosted.

King Mohammed VI of Morocco conveyed the news to the Moroccan people through a statement from the Royal Court. The statement expressed that “the FIFA Council unanimously decided to adopt the Moroccan-Spanish-Portuguese candidacy as the sole bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.”

This historic decision by FIFA acknowledges Morocco’s esteemed status among nations and underscores the unique opportunity for unity and enthusiasm across the Mediterranean region.


Share this Article
Leave a comment