Morocco Granted Hosting Rights for 2025 Africa Cup of Nations Finals

Mouad Boudina
Mouad Boudina
1 Min Read

Morocco has been chosen to host the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations finals, taking over from Guinea who lost their hosting rights last year. Furthermore, the 2027 edition will be hosted jointly by Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda as part of a coalition bid.

On Wednesday, the executive committee of the Confederation of African Football conducted a vote to select the host country for an event, and Morocco was declared the winner. Algeria, Zambia, and a joint bid from Benin and Nigeria withdrew their candidacies beforehand, making Morocco the default choice.

The North African nation was overwhelmingly favored and will undoubtedly view this decision as a significant step forward in their aspirations to jointly host the 2030 World Cup alongside Portugal and Spain.

This marks only the second occasion that Morocco will host Africa’s premier sporting event, nearly four decades after their previous hosting in 1988.

Morocco emerged victorious in a vote held by the CAF executive committee, outperforming Botswana, Egypt, and Senegal. Algeria, which had been in contention, withdrew from the race on the preceding Tuesday.

Mouad Boudina

Share this Article
Leave a comment