Rwanda: Paul Kagame to Run for Re-election, Final Candidate List Announced

2 Min Read

On Friday afternoon, June 13th, the Rwandan Electoral Commission released the final list of candidates for the upcoming presidential and legislative elections scheduled for July 15. As expected, President Paul Kagame is among those running for a fourth term. The definitive list aligns with the provisional roster announced a week earlier, on June 6.

The announcement confirmed the candidacies of the three pre-approved contenders for the presidential race: incumbent President Paul Kagame, Frank Habineza of the Democratic Green Party, and Philippe Mpayimana, an official from the Ministry of National Unity and Civic Engagement.

Diane Rwigara, a prominent opposition figure, expressed her disappointment on social media after her candidacy was invalidated for the second time following the provisional list’s release on June 6. “This is the second time you have deprived me of my right to campaign,” she wrote.

The legislative elections will take place simultaneously with the presidential vote. Six parties’ candidate lists have been validated, including the Democratic Green Party, which is the only registered opposition party. Over 500 candidates are vying for the 80 seats in the Rwandan National Assembly.

The official campaign period will commence on June 22nd, marking the beginning of a crucial phase in Rwanda’s electoral process. This election season is poised to be a significant event in the nation’s political landscape, with both the presidential and legislative races drawing considerable attention.


Share this Article