Burkina, Mali and Guinea call for lifting of suspension from ECOWAS and AU

jihane rmili
jihane rmili
1 Min Read

The foreign ministers of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Guinea held a meeting in Ouagadougou on Thursday, at the end of which a joint declaration was adopted.

Through this declaration, the 3 countries agreed to mutualize their efforts to lift the standards of their suspension from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the African Union (AU).

This suspension was used after the army took power in these countries. Guinea and Mali have been subjected to further sanctions.

The three ministers called for joint efforts with the countries of the sub-region and the region to combat insecurity in sub-Saharan Africa. This would allow for coherence in the actions of these countries, according to the Malian and Guinean ministers.

In this statement, the ministers denounced the sanctions that had to be imposed, believing that they do not take into account the complex causes of political change in these countries.

Therefore, they added that these sanctions rather punish the populations who are already suffering from political instability and insecurity and deprive ECOWAS and the AU of the contribution of the three countries essential to meet the major challenges.

Jihan Rmili

Share this Article
Leave a comment